gofastalonegofartogether

 

“If you want to go fast, go alone.
If you want to go far, go together.”
(African Proverb)

I saw this yesterday and boy did it speak to me. I’ve been in a rush my whole life. Rush to get somewhere. It’s not that I didn’t enjoy the journey, nor did I take time and slow down at spots. In fact, the quote “It’s a journey, not a destination” has been one of my life long slogans. But only recently did I discover another layer to this where I realized that I put such high (and speedy!) expectations on everything I want to accomplish that I often end up stopping before I truly get very far.

It’s not a race. It feels like a race. A lot of the time. I’m racing myself to get somewhere so I can do the next thing I have/want to do.

and it’s not even about “stopping to smell the roses”.

It’s just about letting GO of some weird idea of a what I WANT… because what I want is going to change so often. I remember once wanting to be thin. Then I just wanted to be healthy. Then I wanted to be a certain number. Then I wanted to wear a certain size. Then I just wanted to be able to walk up a flight of stairs. Then I wanted to be able to fit into clothes from any store. Then I wanted to be able to take a walk with my husband. Then I wanted to be able to do a yoga class. Then I wanted to be able to fit back into this pair of jeans. Then I wanted to get rid of chronic pain. Then I wanted to learn how to eat healthy. Then I wanted to lose more weight because I was eating healthy. Then I wanted to fit into an airplane seat comfortably. Then I wanted to be able to go to England and do a bus tour. Then I wanted to get through one day without pain. Then I wanted to be able to do a real sit up. Then I wanted….

…. I want I want I want.

What about just being ok with what I am? What about not wanting, just for a little while. What about just eating good food and exercising because it’s good for me? What about reading a book or taking a course because I like it? Not wanting, but just doing?

I feel free.

