I’m really frustrated with some of my liberal friends. Some. I said some. Because I don’t want to make generalizations.

Generalizations about “Trump voters” don’t help anyone.

Trump voters are our siblings, friends, parents, loved ones. Trump voters are human just like us. Trump voters are us.

If we continue this diatribe of condescension towards others who are different than us, than we are ACTING LIKE BIGOTS.

Stop.

We are more similar than we are different.

And before you say “But”…

I know your “buts”. I have them, in my head, all the time.

No group of people can be generalized about. NONE.

Mother Theresa said “If we have no peace it is because we have forgotten we belong to one another”.

Start a dialogue. Open your minds. More importantly, open your hearts.

This is not a war. You can make it a war. But think about that before you do it. Before you make anyone your enemy. Think about using words like “battle” and “war” and “enemy”.

What about peace? Many great thinkers have said that if we continue to divide, continue to resist – it will only make the division greater, the resistance futile. Jung said “What we resist, persists”. Gandhi said “An eye for an eye only ends up making the whole world blind.” Mother Theresa said “I was once asked why I don’t participate in anti-war demonstrations. I said that I will never do that, but as soon as you have a pro-peace rally, I’ll be there.”

Does this mean “resistance is futile”? No, not exactly.

But we have to look at what we want, not what we want to resist. “Be the change you want to see” means instead of talking about what you’re against, take action regarding what you stand FOR.

And who are you resisting? IF you’re resisting Trump, fine. But why are you resisting someone who voted for Trump? What assumptions do you have about a Trump voter? Because that’s all they are – assumptions. The resistance I feel about “Trump voters” is all about how RIGHT I am and how WRONG they are. It is ego-driven. And when I come from a place of “right or wrong” I am no longer really standing FOR anything, except my own ego.

There is no “right” when what we are doing divides us.

EGO is the reason we fight.
Hope is the reason we stand.

Let’s share our hope and light with one another. Let’s listen to each other. Let’s figure out our similarities and stand together in those similarities.

We can only rise if we stop pushing people down.

